Get the word out! Atlanta Daybook enables you to share your press release information online and through social - with one distribution point. Engage Atlanta's community influencers with Atlanta Daybook!



As a Daybook Subscriber, you can receive our email edition free every weekday morning. Click here to become a contributor.



As a Daybook Contributor, you can post and manage your stories & announcements. There is a fee to publish your story on Daybook.

This is the email address you'll be subscribed to Daybook with.



Please sign in below.

Release Date: 08.29.2012 | Location: All Metro Atlanta | Organization: Turknett Leadership Group

Exceptional Leaders Nominated for 9th Annual Turknett Leadership Character Awards

Turknett Leadership Group (TLG), the originators of the Turknett Leadership Character Awards, have announced the nominees for the 9th annual awards program, which will be held on Wednesday, September 19, 2012, at the Georgia Aquarium. Nominated individuals demonstrate integrity; relate to customers, suppliers, co-workers and others with respect; and maintain a culture in which everyone takes responsibility for achieving results while upholding the organization’s core values.  

The nominees will be judged by a four-person advisory group which consists of Kent C. "Oz" Nelson, retired chairman and CEO of UPS; Conchita Robinson, president and CEO of C Robinson Associates, Inc.; Dr. Betty Siegel, president-emeritus of Kennesaw State University; and Tom Crawford, owner of Crawford Corporate Consulting.

Nominees in the CEO/President/Managing Partner - Large Company Category are:

  • Susan Bell, Atlanta Office Managing Partner, Ernst & Young
  • Ann-Marie Campbell, President, Southern Division, The Home Depot
  • Larry Gellerstedt III, President & CEO, Cousins Properties

Nominees in the CEO/President/Managing Partner - Small/Medium Company Category are:

  • Lorraine Chilvers, CEO, Delaney Consulting, LLC
  • Dr. Kym Harris, CEO, Your Sweet Spot Coaching
  • Robin Hensley, President, Raising the Bar
  • Doug Hutcherson, President, Lockton Companies
  • Stuart Johnson, Managing Partner, Barnes & Thornburg
  • Jeremie Kubicek, CEO, GiANT Impact
  • Marci McCarthy, President and CEO, Tech Exec Networks Inc.
  • Matt McConnell, CEO, Knowlagent
  • Christine Newhart, Co-owner and Managing Partner, CASEA Partners
  • Greg Owen, CEO, IronPlanet
  • Bill Pinto, President, Hardin Construction
  • Dave Polstra, Partner and Co-Founder, Brightworth
  • Doug Ross, President, Synergis
  • Josh Schlieman, Partner and Wealth Advisor, Sullivan & Schlieman Wealth Management, LLC
  • Tina Weede, President, USMotivation

In the Executive/Manager Category are the following nominees:

  • Cathy Callaway Adams, Executive VP and COO, Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta
  • Renay Blumenthal, Senior Vice President, Metro Atlanta Chamber
  • Cheryl Briscoe, Development Manager Senior, FIS
  • Alexandrea Carli, International Health and Safety Director, UPS
  • Esther Dabney, Vice President, Learning and Leadership Development,
  • Tracy Garner, VP Core Installation and Maintenance East Region, AT&T
  • Gerard Gibbons, US Sales Middle Market Senior Director, UPS
  • Sharon James Jordan, Senior Vice President, Operations and Systems, Chartis Insurance Services, Inc.
  • Michael Outlaw, Complex Manager and Managing Director, Morgan Stanley Smith Barney
  • April Ray, Director, Chief of Staff, AT&T
  • Bill Tiszai, Deals Desk Director, NCR
  • Garrett Hale, Executive Vice President, Clinical Operations, Alere, Inc.
  • Dedric Hudson, Senior Manager - Advice & Counsel Group (HR), The Home Depot

The following were nominated in the Education Category:

  • Marie Corrigan, Founding Director, Center for Leadership in Disability
  • Steve Olson, Director, Georgia State University
  • Dr. James Wagner, President, Emory University
  • Mark Willis, Assistant Executive Director & CFO, Georgia School Boards Association
  • Mark Crenshaw, Director of Interdisciplinary Training, Center for Leadership in Disability, Institute of Public Health, Georgia State University

Nominees in the Non-Profit Category are:

  • Jill Binkley, Founder & Executive Director, TurningPoint Women’s Healthcare
  • Meagan Fulmer, President & CEO, Partnership Against Domestic Violence (PADV)
  • Steven Gottleib, Executive Director, Atlanta Legal Aid Society
  • Jessica Jones, Executive Director, Georgia Commission on Women
  • Haley Kilpatrick, Founder & Executive Director, Girl Talk
  • Connie Kirk, President & CEO, Nobis Works
  • Milton Little Jr., President, United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta
  • Cynthia Moreland, President & Executive Director, The nsoro Educational Foundation
  • Jane P. Nichols, President & CEO, Goodwill Industries of the Southern Rivers
  • Hollie Pavloff, Program Director, United Way of Metro Atlanta
  • Matt Pieper, Executive Director, Open Hand Atlanta
  • Neil Shorthouse, President & Founder, Communities in Schools
  • Belisa Urbina, Executive Director, Renovacion Conyugal Inc.

Nominees in the Inspiritor Category are:

  • Rick Bishop, Senior Tax Manager, UPS
  • Karen Robinson Cope, Executive Vice President, Sales and Marketing, NanoLumens,  Inc.; Atlanta Council of Directors
  • Rita Evans, Senior Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch
  • Sarah O’Brien, Consultant, O’Brien and Company
  • Susan O’Dwyer, Director of Business Development, Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP
  • LaTrenka Riley, President, Atlanta Professional Business Network
  • Lya Sorano, Founder, Atlanta Women in Business, Oliver Sorano Group
  • Katerina Taylor, Business Strategy Consultant, Taylor Legacy Group Consulting
  • Terry Trout, Vice President, Customer Experience, Cbeyond
  • Dr. Peg Ziegler, Psychologist – Trauma Therapist, Grady Hospital

Additionally, Frank Skinner, who retired as the president of Southern Bell and the chief executive officer of BellSouth Telecommunications, will be the first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership Character. The award recognizes leaders who exemplify the highest standards of character and integrity over a lifetime of service to a firm and to the larger community.

For ticket information and to read about the nominees and winners from the 2011 event, visit GV Financial Advisors is the Silver Sponsor. Kroger and Morris, Manning and Martin are Bronze Sponsors.

About the Leadership Character Awards:
Since 2003, the Turknett Leadership Character Awards have recognized individuals and companies who demonstrate character in leadership by maintaining integrity while consistently balancing respect and responsibility. Watch video highlights from previous events and view past winners.

About Turknett Leadership Group:
Turknett Leadership Group (TLG) is a talent management firm based in Atlanta that has assessed and developed high level leaders and their organizations throughout the U.S. for more than 25 years. Using sophisticated assessment tools and leadership coaching, the TLG professional staff combines extensive psychological expertise in the behavioral sciences with practical business sense and executive management experience.  TLG’s clients run the gamut from start-ups to American icons and many are consistently named to the top-shelf “Fortune’s Most Admired Companies” list.

Bob and Lyn Turknett are co-authors of Decent People Decent Company: How to Lead with Character at Work and in Life and creators of the Leadership Character Awards, which celebrates its ninth year in 2012. For more information visit:; and

Contact Info

Contact Name: Alison Ilg

Company: EOS Marketing & Communications for Turknett Leadership Group

Phone: (770) 565-5440