Get the word out! Atlanta Daybook enables you to share your press release information online and through social - with one distribution point. Engage Atlanta's community influencers with Atlanta Daybook!



As a Daybook Subscriber, you can receive our email edition free every weekday morning. Click here to become a contributor.



As a Daybook Contributor, you can post and manage your stories & announcements. There is a fee to publish your story on Daybook.

This is the email address you'll be subscribed to Daybook with.



Please sign in below.

Release Date: 09.19.2013 | Location: All Metro Atlanta | Organization: Turknett Leadership Group

Atlanta's Best Named at 10th Annual Turknett Leadership Character Awards

On September 18, 2013, Turknett Leadership Group announced the recipients of its Tenth Annual Leadership Character Awards at a luncheon held at the Georgia Aquarium.
This year’s award recipients are:
CEO/President/Managing Partner - Large Company category: Jim Geiger, Cbeyond Inc.
CEO/President/Managing Partner - Small/Medium Company category: Marci McCarthy, T.E.N. – Tech Exec Networks Inc.
Executive Manager category: Shan Cooper, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company
Education category: James McGarrah, Georgia Tech Research Institute
Non-Profit category: Kathy Colbenson, CHRIS Kids
"Inspiritor" category: Andy Lipman, Wish for Wendy Foundation
Alana Shepherd, co-founder and Secretary of the Board at Shepherd Center, received the second annual Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership Character. Frank Skinner was the first Lifetime Achievement Award recipient in 2012. The award recognizes leaders who exemplify the highest standards of character and integrity over a lifetime of service to a firm and to the larger community. 
The Turknett Leadership Character Awards recognize individuals who demonstrate integrity; relate to customers, suppliers, co-workers and others with respect; and maintain a culture in which everyone takes responsibility for achieving results while upholding the organization’s core values.  
“The opportunity to recognize leaders of character is the highlight of the year for us. We believe that by celebrating role models of leadership character, we inspire character in others.” said Lyn Turknett, co-founder of the awards and her husband and partner Dr. Robert Turknett.
The nominees were judged by a five-person advisory group which consists of Kent C. "Oz" Nelson, retired chairman and CEO of UPS; Conchita Robinson, president and CEO of C Robinson Associates, Inc.; Dr. Betty Siegel, president-emeritus of Kennesaw State University; Tom Crawford, Former Chairman and CEO of Crawford and Company; and Ann Cramer, Senior Consultant at Coxe Curry & Associates. 
About the Leadership Character Awards
Since 2003, the Turknett Leadership Character Awards have recognized individuals who demonstrate character in leadership by maintaining integrity while consistently balancing respect and responsibility. GV Financial and Accord Services are the silver sponsors and Kroger, Career Spa and Talent Connections are the bronze sponsors of this year's awards.
About Turknett Leadership Group
TLG’s expertise is Leadership. We are Atlanta’s premiere resource for Executive Coaching, Talent Assessment, Leadership Team Building, and much more. Through an approach grounded in science and guided by the Leadership Character Model, we help organizations hire the best people, identify and develop high potentials, and create high-performing cultures.
Bob and Lyn Turknett are co-authors of Decent People Decent Company: How to Lead with Character at Work and in Life and creators of the Leadership Character Awards, which celebrates its tenth year in 2013. For more information visit:;; and

Contact Info

Contact Name: Sarah Bowen

Company: Turknett Leadership Group

Phone: (770) 270-1723