Get the word out! Atlanta Daybook enables you to share your press release information online and through social - with one distribution point. Engage Atlanta's community influencers with Atlanta Daybook!



As a Daybook Subscriber, you can receive our email edition free every weekday morning. Click here to become a contributor.



As a Daybook Contributor, you can post and manage your stories & announcements. There is a fee to publish your story on Daybook.

This is the email address you'll be subscribed to Daybook with.



Please sign in below.

Release Date: 01.06.2017 | Location: All Metro Atlanta | Organization: Office of the Governor - Public Announcement

Governor Deal Mobilizes State Resources Ahead of Winter Storm

Gov. Nathan Deal will declare a state of emergency for 79 counties at noon on Friday, January 6, ahead of a significant weather event. Acting upon the recommendation of the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency, Deal is ordering state agencies to prepare for up to four inches of snowfall. Deal announced the order yesterday so that individuals and businesses in North and Central Georgia could prepare for the noon declaration and the winter storm itself.

State government offices will remain open as usual Friday.

“I am issuing this executive order to implement protective measures to ensure the public health, preserve the safety of the public, keep property damage to a minimum and to minimize the social and economic impacts of this event on the citizens of Georgia,” said Deal. “We will continue monitoring the forecast models and make appropriate adjustments as necessary. Georgians should stay calm, make the appropriate preparations and stay aware of a potential change in weather conditions.”


About the State of Emergency:

  • The Georgia Department of Transportation have begun treating roads and interstates and will continue to do so throughout the day Friday.
  • Local governments and agencies are working with the state to prepare for the winter storm.
  • The state of emergency allocates resources to state and local agencies if needed. It does not close state government.
  • All decisions regarding school closures will be made at the local level.


The 79 counties include Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Elbert, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Hart, Heard, Henry, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lincoln, Lumpkin, Madison, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Rabun, Richmond, Rockdale, Spalding, Stephens, Talbot, Taliaferro, Taylor, Towns, Treutlen, Troup, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, White, Whitfield and Wilkes.


Read the executive order here. For more information on GEMHSA preparedness efforts, contact Catherine Howden or visit

Contact Info

Contact Name: Jen Talaber Ryan

Company: Georgia Office of the Governor